My new training tool: CycleOps power tap. :-)

Hello all 

Sorry, I know I haven’t updated my blog recently. It has been crazy here lately – trying to get all my visa applications ready for my trip.

I got an amazing new training tool. It is a CycleOps power tap. For those of you who don’t know what it is: it has created a new era of cycling training. It measures your power output in watts to tell you how hard you are going well. In my case it tells me how much I am loafing ha ha. Those days are over. :-(First thing I had to do before I could start utilising the PT to its full potential was something called a field test. If you are ever told that you need to do one then please run away as fast as you can or if you like to hurt so much that you can’t see straight, vomit from exertion and feel exhausted for a good three days, then by all means go for it! A field test involves cycling 20min as hard as you can and then a bit more.I did my test this past week and I think I discovered a new pain threshold. I think I could walk over hot coals and the pain would not come close to what I put myself through during that test. My legs were burning like a bonfire!At the end of my test I needed to stop; I just couldn’t go on and I topped it off by throwing up.After about another 15 minutes I could see straight again and I managed to get myself home, though I did contemplate calling my manager, Conrad, to come and get me.I was disappointed with my test. I only managed to average 320 watts. I know I can do better. Now according to my functional threshold (95% of what I did in the test) I will train in the right zones like the gurus say and I hope to see a lot of improvement.

Here are my zones that I am supposed to train in:Recovery:                    175 watts                           Endurance:                 175-240 Watts                 Tempo:                        240-288 watts                      Threshold:                   288-336 watts            .          Vo2Max:                  .    336-384 Watts                      Intervals of 5-8minAnaerobic capacity:     384-480 watts                       Intervals of 30sec-3minSo you can see no more fooling around on the bike now that the training with power has begun.Thanks to CycleOps for the sponsorship! I have always wanted a power tap and I know my cycling will inprove a lot thanks to it.Can’t wait for my next field test. I want to see how much I will have improved.So if you are a triathlete or a cyclist and you want to take the next step to becoming great on the bike then get yourself a CycleOps power tap.

Keep on 🙂   

2 thoughts on “My new training tool: CycleOps power tap. :-)

  1. Hi Theo,

    WOW I think I felt that way when I did my first Tri-athlon in Gemiston, can you remember…… I thought I killed myself….lol…..

    Keep on working hard, the fruit is ther to be harvested.

    Gos Bless

    Dad

  2. This is the perfect blog for anyone who wishes to find out about this topic.
    You understand so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a brand new spin on a topic which has
    been discussed for years. Great stuff, just great!

Leave a Reply

