My First Race Back After My Crash It was a cold and wet one

After just two weeks of training I raced the BSG triathlon series race #4 at the Midmar Dam in KZN. I knew I wasn’t in shape at all – I was fat and unfit. Talk about a bad combination. Oh well, I was there to just do my best in the shape that I was in.

On race day it was so misty, cold and wet. I know how to handle races like that now, so I wasn’t at all worried. I did my pre-race warm up and was feeling okay, but not good for a race. We lined up at the start and I was so keen to try out all my new gear in the race- my new Nike Lunaracer+2 and my Orca Alpha wetsuit.

The gun went off and once again it was a crazy start, just arms legs everywhere. In the first 10m of the swim I was hit badly in the eye with an elbow. I lost the front guys feet and fell back. I was so angry with them, but hey that’s racing. I got out the water way back, had a fast transition and was amazed at how quickly my Orca Alpha wetsuit came off.

On the bike I was nowhere. I had to work so hard in the first part of the bike to catch the group in front of me. At about 3km we were all together and chasing Erhard Wolfhardt and Claude Eksteen, but they were too fast for us. I made it in to transition first in our group; joint next to me was Hendrik De Villiers. I had an okay T2 and was out on to the run. I knew that it was going to be the hardest leg of the three, but I hung in for a 10th place with my fat and unfit body. As I entered the finishing straight I saw Robyn in front of me and that she had come down on the bike. I saw her Orca trisuit was ripped and there was blood all over her. After the race she told me what happened, after having a really good swim she got out in front and after about 1.5km on a corner with oil on the road her front wheel just slipped out from under her and down she went. All bloody and sore she got back on her bike and finished the race still in a great place coming in 7th. Well done Robs. You showed a lot of guts out there. So proud of you.

A big well done to the rest of the Tuks team: Andrea Steyn who won the ladies race and Rudolf Naude winning the junior race.

Here is a photo of Robyn all bandaged up after the race.

Keep on 🙂

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

4 thoughts on “My First Race Back After My Crash It was a cold and wet one

  1. Theo, have a look at these slogans, it is so applicable to all Champions. 🙂 ……. Why, because you are a champion.

    Sorry to hear about Robyn’s fall, now both of you do have “Champion Scars”. 🙂 Get well both of you ( Theo let go the fat…. 🙂 ) and we are so proud that you are champions in our eyes.

    Muhammad Ali

    Champions aren’t made in gyms. Champions are made from something they have deep inside them: A desire, a dream, a vision. They have to have late minute stamina, they have to be a little faster, they have to have the skill and the will. But the will must be stronger than the skill.

    Dave Weinbaum

    The most important lesson you can learn from winning is that you can.

    Doug Williams

    Never give up, never give in, and when the upper hand is ours, may we have the ability to handle the win with the dignity that we absorbed the loss.

    Dot Richardson

    A true champion is someone who wants to make a difference, who never gives up, and who gives everything she has no matter what the circumstances are. A true champion works hard and never loses sight of her dreams.

    James J. Corbett

    You become a champion by fighting one more round. When things are tough, you fight one more round.

    Billie Jean King

    Champions keep playing until they get it right.

    Mike Ditka

    The ones who want to achieve and win championships motivate themselves.

    John Madden

    The only yardstick for success our society has is being a champion. No one remembers anything else.

    Bruce Jenner

    Abolish your fears and raise your commitment level to the point of no return, and I guarantee you that the champion within will burst forth to propel you toward victory.

    Jack Dempsey

    A champion is someone who gets up when he can’t.

    Love you

  2. Hello Theo,

    “Put your pedal to the metal, it’s time for the MTN OFM Classic in Bloemfontein! This year central South Africa’s biggest cycle race celebrates its 10th year of cycling success! ”

    That were the words when I woke up this great morning. We did it and had amazing race. 🙂

    Good preparation, lots and lots of pasta, litres and litres of sports drinks, energy bars etc, though not so much time on the bike I would have liked, but all was done and set for the race 🙂

    Got up this morning at 05h30 and we (Myself and Colin, my neighbour and cycling buddy) went off at 07h55. Great day, windy and hot, but a nice day.

    Thank you Theo for the sms 15 min before the race. Well I was lucky and caught the elite bike pack in the N1 when we, the veterans, joined them on the N1 overpass.

    Well these elite guys were flying (47 km/p/h, and it was not downhill) and I thought if I can only be in the bike pack of at least 10 Km’s that is going to be great and I will save at least 30% energy, no, no, no, I had to work hard in the bike pack, just to stay with them, though my idea was to be in the middle of the pack and stay there. I worked great, though on my break away on our route, I knew I was working hard with this supper fit guys.

    Well had a great turnaround and then took on the last 20 km’s and I was feeling great, focusing, peddling hard and remembered to replenish lots and lots of fluids. I had a somewhat rough time at the 30 km mark with cramps but worked them out. 🙂

    Entering the last 10 km’s, I was feeling great and really gave it all with a smile 🙂 Entering the finish 200m was great and I realized that I did a stunning and great time, much better than I expected, with a time of 1Hour 2 min 11 sec. with an average speed of 40.7 km/p/h and the highest speed of 52.6 km/p/h….. scary and I did not realized that during the race 🙂 That was a great feeling, tiered but still feeling Great. 🙂

    Well I did my race in preparation for the Argus next year and will work towards that.

    Then the best of it all Our Lord has made this possible and the greatest thing of it all is that my leg that I was battling with, did not at any stage gave me any problems. Praise our Lord. 🙂

    Thanks for the support, it was great. Watch out for the Old Toppie, the cycling is really picking up 🙂

    Love You

  3. Theo,

    I’m always extremely happy hearing from you and your races. Although I do not know Robyn please pass on my best to her as well. You’ve both something to be very proud of … doing what most won’t even attempt, and doing it well.

    Your father mentioned a quote that I actually used when my now 18 year old daughter Kaitlyn was preparing for her first “kids of Steel” triathlon when she was 11 years old. She was so nervous that day so I used Muhammad Ali’s quote that:

    “Champions aren’t made in gyms. Champions are made from something they have deep inside them: A desire, a dream, a vision.”

    Kaitlyn completed the race and was met by a friend of mine (past Canadian Olympic Triathlette Sharon Donnelly) as she crossed the finish line. Sharon made Kaitlyn feel so proud of what she had just accomplished. Kaitlyn had that desire and dream to complete the race, and I was so proud of her for doing it. It took guts to sign up, show up and complete it. Now I know you’re way past that stage, but the courage you display by going into these races is second to none. I was so proud of her and I’m extremely proud of you and your friend Robyn for not only competing, but also for your doing your best and finishing very high in the races you’ve competed. Please continue to keep me in the know. Thanks and good luck in your future races.

    Rick

Leave a Reply

