South African Triathlon Champs Approach!

It’s that time of the year again when all the best triathletes in the country get together for one massively fast, exciting event. This year SAs are being held in “The Windy City,” Port Elizabeth, which means a sea swim – should be great fun.
Since returning from a good block of training in the Western Cape over the Dec/ Jan holidays I have hit a bit of bad luck. I had flu, destroyed my stomach lining, got a knee injury and followed this all up with a bout of bronchitis. In the end though the rest probably did me good.
Now I am in full training mode again at the High Performance Centre where I am enjoying training with all my training buddies. It has taken me a while to get over all the illnesses and set backs, but I should be up to full fitness pretty soon.
In February I got a new training toy/ tool: the CycleOps Joule 2.0. I am now training with power in style! I LOVE it. It tells me everything that I need to know and more. The thing that I like the most is that I can see current watts, average watts, max watts, time, distance, cadence, heart rate, norm watts as well as the power zone that I am currently riding in. There is a lot more data that one can view. The ones that I have mentioned are just the ones that I have chosen to view on the display. Some other options are gradient, intensity factor, training stress score, vertical ascended metres, metres gained, temperature and a couple more that I haven’t It really is the ultimate training tool.
For those of you who don’t know power get with the program! 😉 The Joule 2.0 really is the big dog.
Here is an awesome photo of Robyn’s Joule 2.0 at the top of Chapman’s Peak looking towards Hout Bay.

I am keen to do my first race of the year. I want to test my legs and get them going again.
It’s been a tough couple of weeks, but I am hanging in there. I am not giving up. Like I always say: it is hard to get there, but it’s even harder to stay there. So I am holding onto God and asking and I know by faith that I will receive. The word says: prepare for rain. I am preparing for thundershowers!
He is a good God and He has good plans for me. Plans to prosper me and not to harm me. What about you? Are you holding on?

Please go and check out my new page “Chasing the Points.” Perhaps you can help me in some way, however small.
Come on, where are the comments? I like them. Keep them coming.
Keep on 🙂

2 thoughts on “South African Triathlon Champs Approach!

  1. Hi Theo,

    Sorry to hear about the setbacks, once again, setbacks are there to make you strong and endure the pleasure to stay on top.

    Yes you are so right that with setbacks you actually get stronger and stronger to develop in world class. It shows you how to manage them, how to overcome them, how to use it to your advantage, and how to outperform then in future.

    Remember every top athlete has had them and just grew stronger in your perseverance to be world class.

    The main priority is to have faith within yourself, within GOD and within the management of your setbacks. He is STRONGER than any setback, any illness, any injury, and only trust in HIM will ensure that He will manage all setbacks with you and make you stronger, not only in your faith but in your sport too, being an ambassador for Him through that.

    We are looking forward in your stopover in Bloemfontein next week and we know your race down in PE will be great and you will be chasing your points.

    And as you always say: KEEP ON SMILING : 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Love you

  2. Hi Theo, GOD is good ! And he knows your heart and dreams ! Very excited to read your great blog and in your corner for the weekend’s race – Good luck my friend. Luke 1:37 “For with God nothing will be impossible”

Leave a Reply

