Race Report on the SASOL CROSS TRIATHLON

Last weekend I raced that Sasol Cross Triathlon out in Abramsrust, Sasolburg.
The morning of the race I woke up to pouring rain. It was absolutely bucketing! Carla van Huysteen picked Robyn and me up and it was such a mission to try and load the car when it felt like we were standing under a waterfall. So much rain did not bode well for a triathlon and we were worried that they might make it into a duathlon.

Luckily the venue was so far away that we actually drove out of the rain and it was not raining in Abramsrust although it had and it was very wet there. The sky also looked ominous. An off road tri was going to be a huge amount of fun with so much mud!

I got my transition area sorted out with the bike that I was borrowing for the race. A dual suspension Specialized SWorks. Wow, what a nice bike! A big thanks to my friend Ryno.
I seriously confused all the other athletes when I put on my wetsuit and went down to the swim of a non wetsuit legal race. But, I was only going to warm up in it so that I didn’t get too cold between my warm up and the start of the race.

The distances were: 600m swim, 20km bike and a 6km cross country run. It was going to be a hard, fast race with a lot of mud to make things interesting.
After much persuasion from the referees trying to get us behind the start buoys the gun went off and the sprint got under way. I led the race until the first buoy when Rudolf and Chris joined me. We all exited the water together and raced to T1 where Chris entertained everyone by slipping on the wet grass and falling and then not remembering where he racked.

I chased Rudolf out of transition and passed him on a technical section, but then unfortunately I took a wrong turn and when I got back onto the correct route again I was behind Rudolf. We fought through some hectic mud and got to a grassy section where Rudolf made a bit of a gap on me. I came into transition about 1min30 down and went out onto the cross country route. It was very slippery and my racers were not ideal for the course. Oh well, I finished in second place and I had a ton of fun! Well done to Rudolf.

Keep on 😉

4 thoughts on “Race Report on the SASOL CROSS TRIATHLON

  1. Hi Theo,

    Well a jack of all trades, well done and that with a 🙂

    Keep on rocking Theo, even on a mountain bike and lots of mud.

    Well you certainly had some fun in the mud, congrats

    Love you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

