Race report on Joburg City triathlon

It’s time for the South African Triathlon Season to kick off and what better way than with the first event of the Joburg City Triathlon series. A lot of triathletes descended on Germiston lake for this big race.

Leading up to the race I was really keen for a good one after my disappointing 48th place at World Champs in China. It turned out not be so good but it’s still early in the season and I am looking forward to race the next 9 weeks.

We started about 10min behind the women :-(. This meant that we needed to be on the look-out for ladies with a wide breaststroke kick. It can be brutal when your face is the receiver.

After fighting through the breaststroke kicking ladies it was myself, Erhard Wolfardt and Rudolf Naude exiting the water just after Chris Felgate and Abrahm Louw.

In T1 I kicked off my Sailfish wetsuit in record time – it was much-needed in the chilly 17 degree water.
The first lap of the bike was okay, but halfway through the second lap I lost my legs and didn’t really find them again the whole race.

During the bike leg I lost a couple of places and was in 7th place into T2. I slipped on my fast Inov-8 road-x 155 with my bright green Xtenex races and I was outta there! I was really keen to run a fast 10km as I have really been working on my running. Unfortunately my quick 10km didn’t materialize, but I passed one guy and finished 6th. Happy with that considering that it wasn’t a great day for me. It’s not the end of the world.

The big guy up in Heaven, who I call my King, has a plan for me and it was that I didn’t have a great race. It is not my plan, buti t is the best plan for me. So just trusting in Him right now.

A big well done to the top 3 – you guys were flying. Abrahm Louw, in particular, showed that he is in really good form. Very happy for him. Baie mooi ou maat.

Next race up is the BSG Energade series race at Roodeplaat next weekend. Looking forward to it!

Until I blog again, keep on smiling 🙂

Leave a Reply

